What WBJEE asks for
WBJEEB gives only file sizes for the two images, and its two 2026 documents don't agree on the maximums. The table shows the limits this tool keeps to; under it are both documents' own lines, so you can see where each figure comes from.
| Upload | Pixels | File size | Format | Background |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Photograph | Not set | 10–100 KB | JPG/JPEG | Not stated |
| Signature | Not set | 4–30 KB | JPG/JPEG | Not stated |
Photograph: the notice's words
“The candidate is required to upload JPG/JPEG images of his/her recent colour photograph (10 to 200 KB) and signature (4 to 30 KB).”
“Document Format: JPG, Size (KB): 10 - 100 KB”
Name and date on the photo: Not asked for: the WBJEE-2026 bulletin, registration manual and FAQ have no rule about a name or date on the photo.
Signature: the notice's words
“The photo and Signature of the candidate are to be uploaded in one go.”
“Document Format: JPG, Size (KB): 4 - 50 KB”
How to use the WBJEE resizer
- Choose a recent colour photo for card 1 and a scan or straight phone photo of your signature for card 2.
- Zoom in and drag until your face is centred and fills most of the photo, and the signature fills most of its picture. Tap Whiten the paper if the signature's paper looks grey.
- When both checklists are green, download the photo (10–100 KB) and the signature (4–30 KB), then upload them together in step 19 of the form.
Example: a phone photo through the WBJEE resizer
- Photograph: a 10-megapixel phone photo, 2,736 × 3,648 px, opens as a 1,800 × 2,400 px copy; with no shape set, the frame is the whole 1,800 × 2,400 px, kept at 1,800 × 2,400 px. The JPEG is 10,240 to 100,000 bytes (10–100 KB), named wbjee-photo-1800x2400.jpg. Over the limit even at 60% quality, it would get fewer pixels, same shape.
The JPEG quality it lands on depends on the picture itself.
Two WBJEE documents, two sets of limits
Section 8.3 of the WBJEE-2026 Information Bulletin gives the photo 10 to 200 KB and the signature 4 to 30 KB. The screenshot of the upload page in the Brief Operating Manual for Candidate Registration for WBJEE-2026 (step 19) shows the photo at 10 - 100 KB and the signature at 4 - 50 KB. Both are official, dated 10 March 2026. The live portal sits behind a login, so nobody outside can see which figures it enforced.
| Upload | Bulletin, section 8.3 | Manual, upload page | This tool makes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Photograph | 10–200 KB | 10–100 KB | 10–100 KB |
| Signature | 4–30 KB | 4–50 KB | 4–30 KB |
The tool keeps to the smaller maximum in each row, so the same file passes whichever limit the portal checks. The manual's own sample signature file is labelled 4 kb to 30 kb, the bulletin's range.
The photo you carry on exam day
WBJEE is a pen-and-paper (OMR) exam, and there is no webcam or live photo in the application. Instead, the rules of the examination ask you to bring a copy of the colour photograph you uploaded, along with your printed admit card and an original photo ID, and to check the photo on the attendance sheet. Download the photo from card 1 once, keep that file, and print it from the same file so the two match. The bulletin's 4 cm × 3 cm size is only for the paper photo on certificate proformas, not for the upload or this print.
Why WBJEE uploads get rejected
- Unclear photo or signature images mean the admit card can't be issued (important instruction 7 of the bulletin).
- If the Board sends you an SMS or email about a photo or signature inconsistency, you have to correct it within a day; otherwise the admit card is withheld (FAQ).
How the tool reaches the KB range
WBJEE sets no pixel size, so your crop is kept: it is drawn at up to 2,400 pixels on its longest side and saved as a JPEG at the highest quality that stays under the maximum. If 60% quality is still too big, the pixel size goes down, keeping your shape, and the search runs again. A signature that comes out under 4 KB gets an invisible comment added to the file to reach the minimum; the picture doesn't change. The checklist is read from the finished file. To shrink any other image to a KB limit, use the Image Compressor.
Check before you apply
- The bulletin says photo 10–200 KB and signature 4–30 KB; the registration manual's screenshot of the upload page says photo 10–100 KB and signature 4–50 KB. The tool keeps to photo 10–100 KB and signature 4–30 KB, which passes both. The live portal is behind a login, so nobody outside could see which limits it enforced.
- No pixel, cm, DPI or background rule is stated for the upload. The bulletin's 4 cm × 3 cm is for the paper photo pasted and attested on certificate proformas, not for the upload.
- These are the WBJEE-2026 rules. When the WBJEE-2027 bulletin and registration manual come out (registration usually opens around March), check their upload section and the upload-page screenshot.
- WBJEE has one application for all its UG courses, so one photo and one signature cover everything.
Sources
Rules on this page and in the tool are as per the WBJEE-2026 Information Bulletin dated 10 March 2026; check the latest notice before you apply. We read the official sources below on 8 October 2026 (WBJEE 2026: registration 10 March to 8 April 2026, exam on 24 May 2026; the WBJEE 2027 bulletin wasn't out on 8 October 2026) and will check them again by 1 March 2027.
- WBJEE-2026 Information Bulletin ↗, dated 10 March 2026
- Brief Operating Manual for Candidate Registration for WBJEE-2026 ↗, dated 10 March 2026
- FAQ of WBJEE-2026 ↗, dated 18 March 2026
- WBJEEB: WBJEE page ↗, read on 8 October 2026