Do you need to upload a photo for JEE Advanced?
| How you register | Photo and signature on the JEE (Advanced) portal |
|---|---|
| Qualified through JEE (Main): Indian and OCI/PIO (I) candidates | None. You log in with your JEE (Main) 2026 application number and password; your details from that application are shown. Your upload table has only PDF certificates of 50–500 KB. |
| Foreign national or OCI/PIO (F), direct registration | Photo: JPG, 4–100 KB. Signature: JPG, 1–30 KB. These are the files this tool makes. |
If you came through JEE (Main), your admit card will carry the photo and signature from that application. JEE (Main) asked for a photo of 10–200 KB on a white background and a signature of 10–100 KB, as per the JEE (Main) 2026 Information Bulletin dated 2 November 2025; check the latest notice before you apply. Your JEE (Advanced) upload table has no photo or signature row, so those files are the ones used. For a JEE (Main) form, use the JEE Main photo resizer.
What JEE Advanced asks for
The JEE (Advanced) 2026 brochure has no upload size. The only photo and signature limits are in Step 2, Upload Scanned Certificates, of the portal's instructions for foreign national and OCI/PIO (F) direct registration. Its table lists each file with its format, its minimum size in KB and its maximum size in KB, which is how the rows quoted below read.
| Upload | Pixels | File size | Format | Background |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Photograph, direct registration | Not set | 4–100 KB | JPG | Not stated |
| Signature, direct registration | Not set | 1–30 KB | JPG | Not stated |
Photograph, direct registration: the notice's words
“Photograph | Required for all candidates | JPG | 4 | 100”
Name and date on the photo: Not asked for: neither the JEE (Advanced) 2026 brochure nor the registration portal mentions a name or date on the photo.
Signature, direct registration: the notice's words
“Signature | Required for all candidates | JPG | 1 | 30”
How to use the JEE Advanced resizer
- Check the table above first. If you're registering directly as a foreign national or OCI/PIO (F) candidate, choose your photo for card 1 and a picture of your signature for card 2.
- Frame the photo with your face centred and clearly visible, and zoom the signature until it fills its frame; Whiten the paper clears a grey page.
- When both checklists are green, download the photo (4–100 KB) and the signature (1–30 KB) and upload them in Step 2, Upload Scanned Certificates.
Example: a phone photo through the JEE Advanced resizer
- Photograph, direct registration: a 16-megapixel phone photo, 3,456 × 4,608 px, opens as a 1,800 × 2,400 px copy; with no shape set, the frame is the whole 1,800 × 2,400 px, kept at 1,800 × 2,400 px. The JPEG is 4,096 to 100,000 bytes (4–100 KB), named jee-advanced-photo-1800x2400.jpg. Over the limit even at 60% quality, it would get fewer pixels, same shape.
The JPEG quality it lands on depends on the picture itself.
What the portal leaves to you
The portal states the format and the KB range, and nothing else: no pixel or cm size, no background colour, no face share, no rule on how recent the photo is. So the tool doesn't force a shape or a background; it keeps your crop and makes the file fit. The photo still matters: it is printed on your admit card and shown on the welcome screen of the computer at the exam. A practical choice is a recent, sharp photo against a plain light background, your face centred and filling most of the frame. If your background needs changing, the Change Photo Background Colour tool does it on your device.
No live photo at JEE Advanced registration
Unlike JEE (Main), whose form captures a live photo, neither the JEE (Advanced) portal's instructions nor the 2026 brochure mention a webcam or live photo. Identity is checked at the exam instead: the welcome screen of the computer-based test shows your photo, and you show your admit card and an original photo ID.
Why JEE Advanced uploads get rejected
- Neither the JEE (Advanced) 2026 portal nor the brochure lists rejection reasons for the photo or signature. The portal's upload table sets only the format (JPG) and the minimum and maximum size, so stay inside them.
- At the exam your identity is checked against your admit card, which carries this photo and signature, and an original photo ID.
How the tool reaches the KB range
No pixel size is set, so the tool keeps the part of the picture you frame, at up to 2,400 pixels on the longer side, and saves it at the highest JPEG quality under the maximum: 100 KB for the photo, 30 KB for the signature. A 30 KB cap is tight for a big signature scan; if even 60% quality is over it, the tool scales the signature down in proportion and tries again. The minimums (4 KB and 1 KB) are low, but a file under one gets an invisible comment added without changing the picture. The checklist is read from the saved file. The certificates in the same step are PDFs of 50–500 KB: Compress PDF to Size can bring a large one down.
Check before you apply
- Only foreign nationals and OCI/PIO (F) candidates who register directly upload a photo and signature on the JEE (Advanced) portal. If you qualified through JEE (Main), your upload table has no photo or signature row: they come from your JEE (Main) 2026 application.
- These limits are from the JEE (Advanced) 2026 portal; on 8 October 2026 jeeadv.ac.in still showed only the 2026 cycle. A different IIT organises each year, so check the foreign national instructions on jeeadv.nic.in again when 2027 registration opens.
- JEE (Advanced) gives no pixel, cm or DPI size and no background rule, so you choose the crop and the tool handles only the KB. Other "JEE Advanced" photo sizes you may see are JEE (Main) numbers with a new label.
- The other files in the same step (photo identity proof, passport or citizenship certificate, OCI/PIO card, birth certificate, Class XII mark sheet and the rest) are PDFs of 50–500 KB: this tool doesn't make them.
Sources
Rules on this page and in the tool are as per the JEE (Advanced) 2026 registration portal: instructions for Foreign National and OCI/PIO (F) direct registration (read on 8 October 2026); check the latest notice before you apply. We read the official sources below on 8 October 2026 (JEE (Advanced) 2026, exam on 17 May 2026; on 8 October 2026 jeeadv.ac.in still showed the 2026 cycle and no 2027 brochure or portal) and will check them again by 15 January 2027.
- JEE (Advanced) 2026 registration portal: instructions for Foreign National and OCI/PIO (F) direct registration ↗, read on 8 October 2026
- JEE (Advanced) 2026 registration portal: instructions for JEE (Main) qualified candidates ↗, read on 8 October 2026
- JEE (Advanced) 2026 Information Brochure (IIT Roorkee) ↗, dated 30 December 2025
- JEE (Advanced) official website ↗, read on 8 October 2026