State PSC Photo Resizer (TNPSC, KPSC, MPSC)

Make your state PSC photo and signature for TNPSC, KPSC or MPSC, each to its commission's own rules. TNPSC's 130 × 170 px photo gets your name and date printed in its bottom strip. Nothing is uploaded.

Which commission's form?

Tamil Nadu: exact pixel sizes, your name and date printed on the photo, and the file names Photograph.jpg and Signature.jpg.

Rules as per the TNPSC Notification No. 11/2026 (Group IV), Annexure I dated 6 October 2026; check the latest notice before you apply. Open the official notice ↗

Photograph

130 × 170 px · 20–50 KB · JPG/JPEG

A colour passport size photo taken in a photo studio against a white background, with your name and the date it was taken in a strip at the bottom.

Signature

230 × 75 px · 10–20 KB · JPG/JPEG

Your signature in blue or black ink inside a 6.0 × 2.0 cm box drawn on white paper, scanned and cropped to the box.

Runs in your browser: your photos and scans are never uploaded.

What TNPSC asks for

TNPSC has the most detailed rules of the three: exact pixel sizes, a 200 DPI scan, fixed file names and a name-and-date strip on the photo. The Group IV notification of 6 October 2026 prints the same numbers as TNPSC's Instructions to Applicants. KPSC and MPSC follow further down.

UploadPixelsFile sizeFormatBackground
Photograph130 × 170 px
3.5 × 4.5 cm, 200 DPI
20–50 KBJPG/JPEGWhite, taken in a photo studio
Signature230 × 75 px
6 × 2 cm
10–20 KBJPG/JPEGWhite paper, blue or black ink

Photograph: the notice's words

“in colour, of passport size, against a white background and taken in a photo studio”

“photograph of height 4.5 cm (170 pixels) and width 3.5 cm (130 pixels).”

“Of the total height of the photograph, the image of the candidate shall be 3.0 cm (115 pixels) and the candidate's name and date of photography shall be 1.5 cm (55 pixels)”

“keep ready the scanned image of their photograph, taken within the last 3 months of size 20 KB - 50 KB and saved as Photograph.jpg”

Name and date on the photo: Required on every TNPSC application: your name and the date the photo was taken (on or after the notification date) fill the bottom 55 px of the 170 px photo, leaving 115 px for you. For the OTR alone, para 2.2 only asks for a photo taken within the last 3 months.

Signature: the notice's words

“draw a box of dimension 6.0 x 2.0 cm (230 pixels x 75 pixels) on white paper and sign within the box, using a blue or black ink pen”

“of size 10 KB - 20KB, and saved as Signature.jpg”

How to use the state PSC resizer

  1. Pick your commission above: TNPSC, KPSC or MPSC. Then choose your photo for card 1 and a scan or straight phone photo of your signature for card 2.
  2. Zoom and drag to centre your face and fill the frame. For TNPSC, type your name and the date the photo was taken under card 1. For the signature, tap Whiten the paper if the paper looks grey.
  3. When both checklists are green, download the files: for TNPSC, Photograph.jpg (130 × 170 px) and Signature.jpg (230 × 75 px); for MPSC, photo.jpg and signature.jpg; for KPSC, a photo up to 200 KB and a signature up to 70 KB.

Example: a phone photo through the TNPSC resizer

  • Photograph: a 10-megapixel phone photo, 2,736 × 3,648 px, opens as a 1,800 × 2,400 px copy; the frame at the notice's 130 × 170 px shape (the picture above its 55 px name-and-date strip) covers 1,800 × 1,592 px, drawn smaller, at 130 × 170 px. The JPEG is 20,480 to 50,000 bytes (20–50 KB) with 200 DPI, named Photograph.jpg. Under 20,480 bytes at full quality, an invisible comment makes up the rest.

The JPEG quality it lands on depends on the picture itself.

TNPSC's name and date strip

Annexure I splits the TNPSC photo's 170 px height in two: the top 115 px (3.0 cm) is your picture and the bottom 55 px (1.5 cm) carries your name and the date of photography. The tool frames your picture in the top part and prints what you type, centred in black on white, in the strip. The date has to be on or after the date of the notification you are applying under; for the One Time Registration on its own, para 2.2 only asks for a photo taken within the last 3 months.

The tool always keeps the bottom 55 px for its own strip. If a studio has already printed your name and date on the photo, scan the print (pasted on plain white paper, at 200 DPI), zoom and drag so only your picture fills the frame and the studio's strip is left out, then type the same name and date in the boxes. Check the preview: the name and date must show once, at the bottom.

TNPSC's signature box

TNPSC wants the signature inside a box: draw a 6.0 × 2.0 cm rectangle on white paper, sign inside it with a blue or black ink pen, scan it at 200 DPI and crop to the box with only the signature in it. Card 2 frames at the box's shape and makes 230 × 75 px at 10–20 KB. A signature this small often comes out under 10 KB even at full quality; the tool then adds an invisible comment to the file to reach the minimum, and the signature itself is unchanged.

KPSC and MPSC rules

KPSC (Karnataka)

KPSC's notification and its OTR instructions are in Kannada only. Translated, both say: upload a recent passport-size photograph and your signature, the photograph not exceeding 200 KB and the signature within 70 KB, in JPEG/JPG format only. Nothing else is set, so the tool keeps your crop and only keeps the files under those sizes.

UploadPixelsFile sizeFormatBackground
PhotographNot setup to 200 KBJPEG/JPGNot stated
SignatureNot setup to 70 KBJPEG/JPGNot stated

What the notice says gets an upload refused:

  • KPSC accepts only JPEG/JPG files; the notice lists no other reasons for refusing the photo or signature.

Check before you apply:

  • Only the maximum sizes (photo 200 KB, signature 70 KB) and the JPEG/JPG format are official. Any pixel size you see for KPSC is a suggestion, not a KPSC rule, so the tool keeps your crop.
  • Both KPSC documents are in Kannada; the sizes were read from both and they agree.
  • Applications go through kpsconline.karnataka.gov.in.

These rules are as per the KPSC Gazetted Probationers 2026-27 notification (Kannada), para 3.15 dated 31 July 2026; check the latest notice before you apply. Sources, read on 8 October 2026: KPSC Gazetted Probationers 2026-27 notification (Kannada), para 3.15 (dated 31 July 2026); KPSC One Time Registration instructions (Kannada), item 7 (dated 14 February 2025). We will check them again by 1 January 2027.

MPSC (Maharashtra)

MPSC's pixel sizes come from the instructions on the portal's Photo and Signature Upload step: photo 125 × 150 to 130 × 170 px, signature 125 × 50 to 130 × 60 px. The 50 KB limit is from the 2021 user manual; the portal shows its current limit on that step. The tool frames each at the shape of its largest allowed size, keeps your picture's own pixels inside the range, and names the files without special characters, as the portal asks. The portal can also take a live photo with a webcam instead; that is optional.

UploadPixelsFile sizeFormatBackground
Photograph125 × 150 to 130 × 170 px
3.5 × 4.5 cm
up to 50 KBJPEG/JPGNot stated
Signature125 × 50 to 130 × 60 px
3.5 × 1.5 cm
up to 50 KBJPEG/JPGNot stated

“Photo width between (125 to 130 Pixels) and photo height between (150 to 170 pixels).”

“Scanned copy of photograph in JPEG/JPG format, Max size 50kb (Dimensions: breadth 3.5 cm * height 4.5 cm.)”

“Name of photo and signature should not contains special characters.”

“Signature width between (125 to 130 Pixels) and signature height between (50 to 60 pixels).”

“Scanned copy of signature in JPEG/JPG format, Max size 50kb (Dimensions: breadth 3.5 cm * height 1.5 cm”

What the notice says gets an upload refused:

  • MPSC's manual and portal list no rejection reasons as such. Keep to what they set: the pixel ranges, the size limit, JPEG/JPG and a file name without special characters.

Check before you apply:

  • The 50 KB limit is from the 2021 user manual. The live portal takes its limit from a server setting that falls back to 200 KB, and that setting can't be read without logging in; the upload step shows the actual figure. A file under 50 KB meets both the manual and the 200 KB fallback; if the step shows a lower figure, follow that.
  • The portal's code also accepts PNG, but the manual says JPEG/JPG, so the tool makes JPG.
  • The portal also offers to take a live photo with a webcam instead of uploading one; it's optional.
  • The portal's code contains other size messages (for example "less than 35 kb") that are never used; they aren't the rule.

These rules are as per the MPSC online portal: Photo and Signature Upload instructions (official portal code) (read on 8 October 2026); check the latest notice before you apply. Sources, read on 8 October 2026: MPSC online portal: Photo and Signature Upload instructions (official portal code) (read on 8 October 2026); MPSC Online Application System user manual (dated 21 May 2021). We will check them again by 1 January 2027.

Why TNPSC uploads get rejected

  • Unclear images, or images in the wrong dimensions, size or format, lead to rejection.
  • The OTR portal refuses a photo over 50 KB or a signature over 20 KB, and takes only jpeg or jpg files.
  • The portal also refuses a photo wider than it is tall, and a signature taller than it is wide.
  • Photos taken on mobile phones, selfies, photocopies, photos from family functions or tourist places and photos with plant or building backdrops aren't allowed.

How the tool reaches the KB range

TNPSC's files are drawn at their exact pixel sizes and saved at the highest JPEG quality under the maximum, with 200 DPI written into the photo; a file still under the minimum gets an invisible comment. MPSC's files are drawn at your picture's own pixels inside each pixel range (the largest size, from a sharp phone photo), and would only shrink towards the smallest allowed size if they were over 50 KB. KPSC sets no pixel size, so your crop is kept, up to 2,400 px on its long side, and made smaller only if needed to get under the limit. Every checklist is read back from the finished file. For other photo sizes, use the Passport Size Photo Maker or the Image Resizer.

Check before you apply

  • The printed pixel sizes don't match the cm sizes at 200 DPI: 3.5 × 4.5 cm at 200 DPI would be about 276 × 354 px. The tool makes the printed pixel sizes, inside the KB ranges.
  • The OTR portal's English messages say "Maximum width 300px and Maximum height of 450px" for the photo (450 × 200 px for the signature), but the Tamil versions of the same messages call those numbers a minimum. 130 × 170 px passes the English rule and would fail a minimum. Nobody outside could see which one the portal applies, so if it refuses your file for its pixel size, follow the size its own message gives.
  • TNPSC's Departmental Tests portal uses different sizes. This tool is for the One Time Registration and direct-recruitment applications.
  • Aadhaar linking is required at OTR, for authentication only; TNPSC takes no live photo or webcam picture.

Sources

Rules on this page and in the tool are as per the TNPSC Notification No. 11/2026 (Group IV), Annexure I dated 6 October 2026; check the latest notice before you apply. We read the official sources below on 8 October 2026 (TNPSC Notification No. 11/2026 (Advt. No. 747, Group IV) dated 06.10.2026, which prints the same numbers as the Instructions to Applicants updated up to 11.06.2026) and will check them again by 1 January 2027.

Frequently asked questions

What is the TNPSC photo size?

The notice prints 130 × 170 px and 3.5 cm wide × 4.5 cm high, with 200 DPI, 20–50 KB, JPG, saved as Photograph.jpg. Those numbers don't agree: 3.5 × 4.5 cm at 200 DPI would be about 276 × 354 px, so 130 × 170 px at 200 DPI measures only about 1.65 × 2.16 cm. This tool makes the printed pixel size, 130 × 170 px, with 200 DPI written in. The bottom 55 px is a strip with your name and the date the photo was taken. It must be a colour studio photo against a white background; mobile phone photos and selfies aren't allowed.

How do I add my name and date to the TNPSC photo?

Type them in the "Name on the photo" and "Date the photo was taken" boxes under card 1. The tool prints them in black on a white strip in the bottom 55 px, leaving 115 px for your face, as Annexure I of the notification lays out. The file isn't marked ready until both are typed. A long name that wouldn't fit across the 130 px photo fails the checklist: tick "Long name on two lines" or shorten your first names to initials. Use the date the photo was actually taken, on or after the notification date; the notice sets no date format, so DD.MM.YYYY is only a suggestion.

What is the TNPSC signature size?

230 × 75 px, 10–20 KB, JPG, saved as Signature.jpg. Draw a 6.0 × 2.0 cm box on white paper, sign inside it with a blue or black ink pen, and crop to the box. The portal refuses signatures over 20 KB.

What is the KPSC photo and signature size?

The photo can be up to 200 KB and the signature up to 70 KB, JPEG/JPG only, as per KPSC's 2026-27 Gazetted Probationers notification and its OTR instructions (both in Kannada). KPSC sets no pixel size, minimum size or background, so the tool keeps your crop.

What is the MPSC photo and signature size?

The MPSC portal asks for a photo of 125 × 150 to 130 × 170 px and a signature of 125 × 50 to 130 × 60 px, each up to 50 KB as per the user manual, JPEG/JPG, with file names that have no special characters. From a sharp photo the tool makes the largest allowed sizes (a smaller scan keeps its own pixels inside the ranges) and names the files photo.jpg and signature.jpg.

Can I use a mobile phone photo for TNPSC?

No. TNPSC asks for a colour photo taken in a photo studio, and lists photos taken on mobile phones, selfies, photocopies and photos from family functions or tourist places as not allowed. If you have a printed studio photo, paste it on plain white paper, scan it at 200 DPI and crop to the photo only. That's also why this page doesn't offer to change the photo's background.

More image tools

See all image tools →

Can't find the tool you need? Tell us, and the most requested tools get built first.